Weld County Bar Association Honors Local Attorneys at Annual Dinner

May 17, 2016 | Member News

On Friday, May 6, 2012, the Weld County Bar Association hosted its annual awards dinner at the Eaton Country Club. This was the 103rd annual dinner in the history of
the WCBA.

The awards dinner was hosted by outgoing President Lisa Weibel, Esq. The evening featured entertainment by the Comedy Brewers, a local improv troupe that
performs at the Bas Bleu Theatre in Fort Collins. The highlight of the evening, as always, was the presentation of the annual awards given to local bar members.

The Andrew Borg Award, given to an attorney in recognition of outstanding contributions to the representation and availability of legal services to indigent persons, was presented to attorney Crofton Socco, Esq. The Sandy Carr Award, given to an attorney or non‐attorney who works to assist those who cannot afford legal services and strives to make the legal process accessible to those without counsel, was presented to Matthew Athey. The Sandy Carr Award winner is chosen each year by Weld County Legal Services, Inc.

The bar’s annual professionalism award, named for the late Magistrate Frank Henderson, was won by Mark Rapp, Esq. The Frank Henderson Award is given to an attorney in recognition of a life and practice that displays sterling character and unquestioned integrity, and ongoing dedication to the highest standards of the legal profession. The award bears the image of a fly fisherman in honor of the late Magistrate Henderson, a champion of professionalism among lawyers and an avid fly fisherman. It was a special honor for Mr. Rapp, who practiced with Frank Henderson before he became a magistrate. Stanley Peek, Esq., received the Walker Miller Lifetime Achievement Award, which was accepted on his behalf by his daughter Amanda. The Walker Miller Lifetime Achievement Award is given to an attorney in recognition of a lifelong dedication to excellence in the practice and administration of law, and for serving as a shining example and inspiration to others in the legal profession. Previous winners include Walker Miller, for whom the award was named in 2013, Roger Klein, and Robert E. Ray.

The Weld County Bar Association is one of the oldest and long‐standing professional organizations for lawyers. It was formed in the early 1900s by a handful of lawyers, hosted its first annual dinner in 1913 and its first educational seminar in 1939. Today the Weld County Bar Association has over 250 members.