Nominate Now! Larimer County Environmental Stewardship Awards

Jul 1, 2015 | Member News

The 21st Annual Larimer County Environmental Stewardship Awards program is underway. This year’s nomination deadline is Friday, September 18, 2015. You can nominate online, or print a form and send it in:

A total of 74 awards have been presented since 1995 when the program began, Last year saw three recipients:

  1. The City of Fort Collins Utilities and Natural Areas Departments, for their black-footed ferret reintroduction program at the Soapstone Prairie Natural Area and Meadow Springs Ranch.
  2. James E. Gano, for his strong personal commitment and sustained effort training volunteers for conservation activities related to the Nature Conservancy’s Phantom Canyon Preserve.
  3. The Coalition for the Poudre River Watershed, for their effective efforts to improve and maintain the ecological health of the Poudre River Watershed through community collaboration.

The Board of County Commissioners, together with the County’s Environmental and Science Advisory Board (ESAB), is seeking nominations for 2015 efforts. The awards acknowledge individuals and organizations in Larimer County who have undertaken activities that demonstrate exceptional stewardship of the environment. Residents, schools, agencies, government, businesses, and other organizations are encouraged to participate. Projects can be self-nominated or nominated by others, and can be either one-time efforts or on-going activities.

The Larimer County ESAB will review the initial nominations, and make recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners who will present awards on Monday, December 14, 2015. For more information about the Award or process please contact Doug Ryan, Larimer County Environmental Health at 498-6777, [email protected] or Michelle Bird at the Board of County Commissioners’ Office, 498-7015, [email protected].