FRCC Automotive Program Earns Reaccreditation

Aug 3, 2021 | Member News

The National Institute for Automotive Service has granted reaccreditation after a rigorous review process.

The National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence Education Foundation has affirmed that the automobile technician-training program at Front Range Community College’s Larimer Campus continues to meet the requirements for Master Automobile Service Technology Accreditation. This is the highest level of program accreditation recognized by the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE).

Programs that receive accreditation after this rigorous process are considered to be the elite auto mechanic education programs in the United States. “Automotive technology programs certified by the ASE Education Foundation surpass standards that are considered to be above the industry norm,” said Nicholas Spezza, dean of instruction.

“This recognition demonstrates our continued commitment to maintaining a high-quality program that meets or exceeds the industry’s requirements,” said Jean Runyon, vice president of FRCC’s Larimer Campus. “Our faculty and instructors are among the best. Students are assured of a quality education, and shop owners are assured of quality job applicants.”

Institutions that are accredited by ASE meet rigorous standards in the following areas:

Student working on car
  • Student Services
  • Instruction
  • Equipment
  • Facilities
  • Supervision
  • Access
  • Learning Resources
  • Finances
  • Instructional Staff

FRCC’s program also received an integrated academics recognition in mathematics, science, and language arts.

ASE is a national non-profit organization that tests and certifies repair technicians, in addition to accrediting automotive training programs.


About Front Range Community College

FRCC offers more than 100 degree and certificate programs from locations in Boulder CountyLarimer CountyWestminsterBrighton, and online. FRCC is a member of the Colorado Community College System.

About the Colorado Community College System

The Colorado Community College System (CCCS) is the state’s largest system of higher education, serving 138,000 students annually at 13 colleges and 39 locations across Colorado. Our open access mission ensures all Coloradans who aspire to enrich their lives have access to quality higher education opportunities.