Fort Collins Area Chamber of Commerce Celebrates Business Heroes at Annual Dinner

Feb 21, 2014 | Chamber News

The Fort Collins Area Chamber of Commerce hosted the 108th Annual Dinner at the Hilton Fort Collins Thursday evening, where over 530 people attended to celebrate local business heroes and achievements. Several outstanding business leaders were recognized with Chamber honors, including Tom Gendron, President of Woodward, winner of the Chamber’s prestigious Collins Award.

First presented in 1977, the Collins Award recognizes long-standing contribution to the community. Tom Gendron joins previous winners such as Larry Kendall, Tom Gleason, Bohemian Companies, Curt and Nancy Richardson, and Rulon Stacey. Gendron is the Chairman of the Board, Chief Executive Officer, and President of Woodward. Founded in 1870, Woodward serves its worldwide customers through manufacturing facilities and sales offices, and central distributors from right here in Fort Collins. As Chairman of the Board of Woodward, Tom Gendron lead his company through a rigorous consideration of national locations for their new headquarters and expansion of their energy division. He then chose to keep that headquarters in Fort Collins, investing $220 million in capital, adding 750 new jobs and a $2 million annual impact to our community. A legacy decision for our community.

Additional awards included:

>>Honoring businesses that make environmental strides in their daily operations, The Environmental Awards recognize the value of using environmentally friendly products to enhance corporate bottom line, as well as play an active role in the local and global community. The 2013 Environmental Awards went to Alphagraphics and Anheuser-Busch, Fort Collins Brewery.

>>Recognizing young business professionals and upcoming leaders in the community, The Young Professional of the Year Award was awarded to Amy Kolczak, University of Colorado Health.

>> The 2013 Volunteer of the Year Award was awarded to Chuck Jacquinot of All-Tech Automotive, who has been a long time volunteer with the Red Carpet Committee, serving as Chair this last year. His company was recognized as a Small Business of the Year winner in 2013 and he has been a long time advocate for the Chamber, sharing with all he comes to know the impact of the Chamber on his life and his business.

The Annual Dinner would not be possible without the generous contributions of this year’s sponsors.

  • Gold Sponsor: Woodward
  • Silver Sponsors: FirstBank of Northern Colorado and Kaiser Permanente
  • Bronze Sponsors: Capital West Bank, Colorado Financial Management, EKS&H, Flood and Peterson, Fort Collins Country Club, Hilton Fort Collins, Palmer Flowers, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services Rocky Mountain Realtors, NCBR, Mortenson Construction, Warren Federal Credit Union, and US Bank
  • Awards Sponsors: Banner Health, Cornerstone Home Lending and Colorado Financial Management
  • Reception Sponsor: Kenz & Leslie, Wells Fargo
  • Beverage Sponsor: High Country Beverage