Fort Collins Area Chamber of Commerce Celebrates Business at Annual Dinner

Feb 23, 2017 | Chamber News

Fort Collins Area Chamber of Commerce Celebrates Business at Annual Dinner

David Wood Receives Prestigious Collins Award

FORT COLLINS, COLO. – February 22, 2017 – The Fort Collins Area Chamber of Commerce hosted its 112th Annual Dinner at The Hilton Fort Collins on Wednesday evening, where over 550 people attended to celebrate local business achievements. Several outstanding business leaders were recognized with Chamber honors, including David Wood, recipient of the Chamber’s prestigious Collins Award.

First presented in 1977, the Collins Award recognizes individuals with a long-standing contribution to the community. Wood joins previous recipients such as Larry Kendall, Tom Gleason, Bohemian Companies, Curt and Nancy Richardson, and Mark Driscoll.

Wood grew up in Fort Collins, where his father owned Paul Wood Florist for 40 years.  He then went to college in Boulder and received his bachelor’s and his law degree from CU in 1962.  Wood then returned to Fort Collins and began his long legal career, but unsure if he would be accepted by the business community.  David joined the Chamber of Commerce.  He then became chair in 1967  Wood served as General Counsel of PVHS and University of Colorado Health, retiring from that role in 2010.  He also served as outside counsel for the CSU Foundation and CSU Research Foundation.  For the last 25 years, he has managed the Griffin Foundation.  Wood played an active role in community affairs, including service as president of the Fort Collins Area Chamber of Commerce and the board of directors of First National Bank. His service to Poudre Valley Hospital began in 1976, as a board member for the Poudre Valley Hospital District. He served on that board for 12 years, including six years as chairman. In 1990, the board appointed him as counsel to the district board. He serves as a Director of University of Colorado Health. He assisted in the creation of the private, nonprofit Poudre Valley Health System in 1994.

Additional Chamber awards included:

>>Recognizing young business professionals and upcoming leaders in the community, The Young Professional of the Year Award was awarded to Mark Culloton, Austin’s American Grille.

>> The 2016 Volunteer of the Year Award was awarded to Chris Otto, EKS&H, who has been a long-time volunteer sharing his time with the Chamber Board and the Moving Fort Collins Forward! Campaign.

The 2017 Annual Dinner would not be possible without the generous contributions of this year’s sponsors:

Gold Sponsors: Comcast, Fort Collins Coloradoan, Hilton Fort Collins, Quality Inn & Suites and Woodward.

Beverage Sponsor: High Country Beverage.

Silver Sponsors: Brock & Co.

Reception Sponsors: Elevations Credit Union and Fusion Tech Media.

Bronze Sponsors: BKD, Blue Federal Credit Union, Cushman & Wakefield, EKS&H, Flood and Peterson, FMS Bank, Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart P.C., Universal Lending Corporation, US Bank and Western States Bank.

Event and Media Sponsors: BizWest, Hewlett Packard Enterprise, KRFC 88.9, Old Town Media and Toolbox Creative.

Table Sponsors: Colorado Business Bank, Columbine Health Systems, Ed Carroll Motor Company, Great Western Bank, Mortenson, Guaranty Bank & Trust, Palmer Properties and Workspace Innovations.

About the Fort Collins Area Chamber

The Fort Collins Area Chamber of Commerce is the leading membership-based organization in Northern Colorado, dedicated to helping business succeed. Investing in the Fort Collins Area Chamber of Commerce puts members in contact with more than 1,222 business owners and managers in the market. For more than 100 years, the Fort Collins Area Chamber has been influencing efforts to maintain and grow the business community in Fort Collins.

For more information about the Chamber call (970) 482-3746 or visit